2015 – Manifesto.

In late November I picked up ‘The Art of Asking‘. It reduced me to tears and poked at the mush that is my brain in some very good, if painful, ways. I’ll be re-reading it soon.

I moved on to The Punk Rock Yoga Manifesto which has surprised me as much because of how much of the principles behind yoga I already aspire too as because it was totally not what I thought it would be.

These two books have very much influenced next years ‘Manifesto’.

Sit. Stretch. Surrender.

I will Sit.

I will sit with my emotions. I will sit with my stress, my grief, my pain and my past. I will sit with my calm, happiness, strength and joy. I won’t dismiss it. I won’t force through it or dismiss it. I will sit with it and allow myself to feel it, process and learn from it.

I will sit with my body. I will acknowledge it’s strengths as readily as I do it’s weaknesses. I will allow myself to sit with it, I will allow myself to listen to it, I will allow myself to nurture it and I will allow myself to learn from it.

I will Stretch.

I will stretch and push outside of my comfort zones.

I will learn new skills. I will work to push past the walls I’ve built up to protect myself. I will work to bring down those walls. I will continue to push my own boundaries.

I will Surrender.

I will let go. Of old hurts, of old insecurities, of old pains.

I will let go of my preconceived notions of what I should be and allow myself to just be. I will let go of my preconceived notions of what my life should be at let it just be. I will let go of my preconceived notions of what my relationships should be like and let them just be.

Leave a Reply

