The Feast Nearby

I finished The Feast Nearby by Robin Mather tonight. It was one of those quietly inspiring slice of life biographies. It follows her from moving into her tiny lakeside cottage just post divorce through the year that follows.

She talk in equal measure about food – sourcing fresh produce, eating locally, preparation and preservation – and her life and emotional journey. It’s not something I would have picked up a few years ago. I primarily got it this year as it had great reviews and I just wanted something different from my usual fare to read. It was inspiring and gently uplifting.

The recipes also look amazing so we’ll try to convert them to something I can eat.

Leave a Reply

