Gluten-Free Girl (and the Chef) Baking Info

So the Gluten-Free Girl is an incredible blog run by Shauna Ahern. Her book was one I reviewed a few posts back as it is, quite frankly, the best fucking thing I could have read as I was trialling a gluten-free diet (on top of my usual low fodmap diet). And having it fresh in my mind as I was handed my diagnosis of an autoimmune issue that means my body will benefit from a lack of gluten in my diet permanently.

Throughout her blog there’s a number of posts on baking. From her early experiments to published author and Kitchen Queen (if you ask me). There are some bits of info that I want to be able to look up at a thought so those are now here:

A Guide to Working with Gluten Free Flours from Gluten-Free Girl

How to Make a Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mix

WHOLE GRAIN FLOURS

brown rice flour
buckwheat flour
corn flour
mesquite flour
millet flour
oat flour
quinoa flour
sorghum flour
sweet potato flour
teff flour

WHITE FLOURS/STARCHES

arrowroot flour
cornstarch
potato flour
potato starch
sweet rice flour
tapioca flour
white rice flour

NUT FLOURS

almond flour
chestnut flour
coconut flour
hazelnut flour

BEAN FLOURS 

fava bean flour
garbanzo bean flour
kinako (roasted soy bean) flour

And onto the Guide to Baking Gluten-Free

YOU DON’T NEED XANTHAN GUM TO BAKE GLUTEN-FREE.

We love using psyllium husks in our baked goods. (Here’s a video that shows you how and why.) The baked goods turn out better now than they ever did with xanthan and the pinch of psyllium we use makes me more…regular.

We also like ground chia seeds and flaxseeds in place of xanthan gum. In fact, sometimes we grind up chia seeds and flaxseeds, combine them with psyllium husks in a jar, and pinch in a bit of this combination when we bake.

HOW DO I CONVERT MY GRANDMOTHER’S APPLE TART RECIPE SO I CAN EAT IT GLUTEN-FREE?

Well, this is the easy part. Ready?

Look at your grandmother’s recipe. Whenever it calls for 1 cup of gluten flour (or just, flour) substitute 140 grams of your favorite gluten-free all-purpose flour blend.

Let me make it easier for you.

1 cup = 140 grams
1 1/2 cups = 210 grams
2 cups = 280 grams
2 1/2 cups = 350 grams
3 cups = 420 grams

And so on.

 

Leave a Reply

